Nemtsov Remembers

I saw this a few days ago, but never got around to reading it.  I’m not sure where or when this was originally published, but it is Boris Nemtsov’s recollection of how Yeltsin chose Putin.

He tells an amusing story about an emergency meeting that Putin missed on account of an ill dog.

I was in shock and could not recover.  The behavior of the head of the FSB seemed so outrageously absurd, unwise, and not in the interests of the state that I refused to believe it was happening.  I do not remember what I said at the time, but it was certainly not polite.  I’m sure he has not forgotten.

What struck me most about the article, however, was Nemtsov’s seeming acceptance that Yeltsin had the right or obligation to choose a successor.  As I’ve written previously, this attitude is very revealing.

Or as another reader commented:

…he [Nemtsov] exposes the root of all evil.  And it is not Putin’s personality.  And the fact that Nemtsov himself quietly writes about how to decide who will be the next President of the Russian Federation.  Not a candidate.  But just to be the President.  With such an approach, this position was bound to be filled by a dictator scum.  And not necessarily with the name of Putin.

Leave a Reply

