Vladimir Yakunin

This is something that has been bothering me for awhile, and at first I was hesitant to put it out there. However, a post today about Russian Railways chief Vladimir Yakunin caught my eye, and the phrasing convinced me to write about it.

I am not against anti-corruption efforts. In fact, I applaud them. But this (dare I say obsessive) scrutiny of Yakunin raises some questions.

Why is Yakunin being singled out?

Where is this information coming from?

I don’t know the answers. But the questions bear considering when these reports are released.

It should be noted that Yakunin has been mentioned as a potential successor to Vladimir Putin on numerous occasions over the years. I do not subscribe to this belief myself, but that may play some role here. These are political maneuverings on somebody’s part, and it would be nice if it were acknowledged, rather than the gloating I frequently see when Yakunin’s excesses are revealed.

One thought on “Vladimir Yakunin

  1. MB_Fin

    I remember a curious incident from last winter. Yakunin’s term as RR chief had come to an end and he needed an official renewal from Putin. Putin finally signed it, but several weeks late which some observers said was highly unusual.

Leave a Reply

